Metal Architecture Home

Industry News

2017 AIA Housing Award Recipients Selected

The American Institute of Architects (AIA) has selected 14 recipients for the 2017 Housing Awards. The AIA's Housing Awards program, now in its 17th year, was established to recognize the best in housing design and promote the importance of good housing as a necessity of life.

The jury recognized projects in four award categories: One/Two Family Custom Housing, One/Two Family Production Housing, Multifamily Housing and Special Housing. Below is a list of the recipients.

One/Two Family Custom Housing

Blue Lake Retreat; Marble Falls, Texas

Lake|Flato Architects


The Graphic House; Fayetteville, Arkansas

Marlon Blackwell Architects


Los Altos Residence; Los Altos, California

Bohlin Cywinski Jackson


Pennsylvania Farmhouse; Lakewood, Pennsylvania

Cutler Anderson Architects


Sawmill; Tehachapi, California

Olson Kundig


One/Two Family Production Housing

Cully Grove; Portland, Oregon

Green Gables Design and Restoration

Roxbury E+; Boston

ISA - Interface Studio Architects and Urbanica


Stellar Residences and Townhomes at Northstar; Truckee, California

Bohlin Cywinski Jackson


Multifamily Housing

Hunters View Housing Blocks 5&6; San Francisco

Paulett Taggart Architects

Powerhouse; Philadelphia

ISA - Interface Studio Architects


VIA 57 WEST; New York City

BIG - Bjarke Ingels Group; Associate Architect: SLCEArchitects, LLP


Specialized Housing

Heartland Family Works; Omaha, Nebraska

Alley Poyner Macchietto Architecture, Inc.


The Lofts at Washington University in St. Louis; St. Louis, Missouri

William Rawn Associates, Architects, Inc.; Associate Architect: Tao + Lee Associates


The Six; Los Angeles

Brooks + Scarpa

The jury for the 2017 AIA Housing Awards includes: Katherine Williams, AIA, (Chair) Fifth Generation Holdings; Joe Digrado, AIA, Danielian Associates; Blake Held, AIA, Blake H. Held Architect, PLLC; Charles Mudede, The Stranger (Journalist) and David Perkes, AIA, Mississippi State University GCCDS.